Grandmom’s Chocolate Cake

Who doesn’t love a good chocolate cake?

I am one of those people that, if given the chance, will eat an entire chocolate cake. Don’t judge! It’s just some natural instinct I have…and it especially comes into play when I’m dealing with my grandmom’s chocolate cake recipe.

Chocolate CakeOkay, seriously though. Now that you’ve seen the above picture, I don’t think you can judge my obsession. It’s one of the best desserts I’ve ever eaten. I always get a crazy craving for this cake. True love. That’s how one could describe the relationship between me and chocolate cake.

One thing better than eating a piece (or multiple pieces) of this cake with a big glass of milk while watching TV alone in your pyjamas, is sharing it with other people! Now that I’m at university and staying in residence, I got that chance! My new friends Carissa and Allison helped me make the cake, and it was shared with basically anyone who walked by the kitchen!

If you like gooey, moist cakes, THIS recipe is for you!

You’ll need:

For the cake

  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup cocoa
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 cup boiling water

For the frosting

  • 2/3 cup  cocoa
  • 3 cups powdered sugar
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter

Heat oven to 350°F. Grease and flour two 9-inch round (or square) baking pans.

Stir together sugar, flour, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda and salt in large bowl. Add eggs, milk, oil and vanilla; beat on medium speed of mixer 2 minutes. Stir in boiling water (batter will be thin). Pour batter into prepared pans.

Bake 30 to 35 minutes or until wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool 10 minutes; remove from pans to wire racks. Cool completely (this is VERY important!). Then frost with the frosting recipe below.

Melt butter. Stir in cocoa. Alternately add powdered sugar and milk, beating to spreading consistency. Add small amount additional milk, if needed. Stir in vanilla. About 2 cups frosting.

I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I do! Lots of love!

yourstrulyg

This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Grandmom’s Chocolate Cake

  1. mgstackhouse says:

    Ohhhhh…there is nothing like Grandmom’s chocolate cake. I should know!

Leave a comment