DIY Tea Bags

We really enjoy loose tea in our family – and our favourite is rooibos! This is a really easy way to turn your favourite loose tea into tea bags that you can take where ever.

You’ll need:

  • coffee filters
  • string
  • loose tea
  • construction/other type paper
  • stapler
  • glue

First cut out 2 identical rectangles from the coffee filters. Stitch around 3 sides and then you can fill it with your loose tea. Stitch up the top of the tea bag and fold over the two top corners like in the photo.

Put the string in the centre of the bag, fold the top of the bag over the string and staple over it. Now you can personalize the end of the string with a little heart cut out of construction paper, or any other shape.

…and you’ve made your own tea bag! Put 4 or 5 of these into a cute bag and it would make a really cute gift!

This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to DIY Tea Bags

  1. What an adorable gift for Mothers Day, friends, or a treat to yourself!
    LOVE!!!

  2. nicole says:

    Thank you so much for this DIY. I have been wanting to make these for so long but NEVER thought to use coffee filters and didn’t want to go out and buy special muslin or whatnot to make them. You’re AWESOME. thank you 🙂

  3. so cute! I always wondered what to use to make my own tea bags…coffee filters duh!

  4. kat says:

    soooo cute! love how you made a dangling heart 🙂

  5. Pingback: DIY: Make Your Own Tea Bags « Hey Mishka

  6. Marta says:

    I am writing this to inform you I chose your blog to receive the Liebster award! Really find your posts inspiring : ) Go to http://myecoblog.org/2012/03/31/liebster-award/ to check out the post!

  7. Pingback: DIY: Make Your Own Tea & Tea Bags | GIF Peanut Butter

  8. Ada says:

    I adore this.
    I was given a bag of loose tea and wasn’t sure how to make it.
    Thank you!
    I will try it as soon as humanly possible.

  9. Gabby says:

    They are that easy?! I can’t believe it, I have been looking for how to make tea bags for a long and now I found out how!!! I can now put the tea leaves I grow into a nice home! 🙂

  10. Thanks for the tutorial G. They are super cute 🙂 I’ve picked this as one of my top 10 for my latest post. http://www.frecklesandfluff.com/4/post/2013/05/10-creative-easy-diy-gifts-for-mothers-day.html

  11. Ann says:

    This is such a cute idea!!!

  12. Pingback: 5 DIY Geschenke für Weihnachten

  13. Pingback: Mother’s Day Gift Guide

  14. Pingback: 10 dicas para acabar com as olheiras - Living in B's Shoes

  15. Missi says:

    I’m so in love with this idea!! Who wants to make them for me? lol

  16. Pingback: Tea Bags | Elevenses

Leave a comment